Polarized light photography under$700?

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

jswift

Polarized light photography under$700?

Post by jswift »

A complete novice to microscopy, I've been trying to find equipment for photos of crystals and other things in polarized light. I have a Sony Nex-7 camera.

Is it possible to do this with a budget of under $700?

If so please could you point me in the right direction for further research, maybe in the direction of adapting a microscope for polarized light.

Also does anyone know of a retail source for microscopes in Victoria, BC?

Many thanks

Jim Swift
Vancouver Island, BC

NikonUser

Post by NikonUser »

This probably doesn't answer your question but Olympus made a polarizing attachment for their BH2 microscopes BH2-KP. It consists of 4 components and works very well. Several of my images with it on this site.
Used on e-bay for about $300-400.
I suspect that different microscopes have their own, similar, attachments.
NU.
student of entomology
Quote – Holmes on ‘Entomology’
” I suppose you are an entomologist ? “
” Not quite so ambitious as that, sir. I should like to put my eyes on the individual entitled to that name.
No man can be truly called an entomologist,
sir; the subject is too vast for any single human intelligence to grasp.”
Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr
The Poet at the Breakfast Table.

Nikon camera, lenses and objectives
Olympus microscope and objectives

chrismower

Post by chrismower »

I have just been tinkering with this myself and was wondering if my experiments might be of interest to anyone else.