Very new at photomicroscopy

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Simonoff

Very new at photomicroscopy

Post by Simonoff »

Hi and thank you for this wonderful resource. I am just starting out and have been failing pretty well so far. I tend to be a read a little, try a little, read a little, then ask questions kind of person. I am by no means a microscope nor photography expert but am looking forward to learning. I am just starting out, so please feel to "explain it to me like I am 5" - I won't feel insulted :-)

Ok, I have a Meiji trinocular scope on which I have mounted a Canon EOS T1i camera. I have the "C" adapter and a 1.9x magnification lens that goes in the trinocular assembly. I believe this is an attempt to get the image size the eye sees through the eyepieces to be approximately the same as what the camera sees (which by the way is not close).

Before I mount my camera on the assembly, I turn it to manual mode and turn on the mirror lock-up feature. Then I attach the camera to my computer via a USB cable and start up the camera and Canon's EOS Utility. My thinking is that if I use the EOS Utility in live view mode and use the software shutter button, I will reduce vibration.

Ok now the problems begin...

1) The live view in the EOS Utility is pitch black. However, when I take the picture, EOS Utility downloads it and displays it, the exposure is fine (if the shutter is set to 0.4 seconds). If I ramp up the exposure to 30 seconds (LOL) the live view is almost ok, but I couldn't take a shot that way, the image would be white! For some reason, the live view requires MUCH more light than the actual photo does. What am I doing wrong?