The best camera for both macro of plants/lichens & scope

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

lichenophile

The best camera for both macro of plants/lichens & scope

Post by lichenophile »

I'm deciding on a camera to purchase in the $400-$450 range or so that would satisfy both my desire to take excellent clear, crisp, detailed outdoor macro pics of lichens and plants, (often in lower forest light and Pacific NW cloudy/grey/damp conditions!)
I'd like it to have a tilting or articulating camera screen for viewing. As a teacher I want to use photos mainly for educational purposes, whether in presentations, to create a guidebook, for displays etc...perhaps even a poster though I haven't done this yet!

Also, having GPS coordinates for lichen specimens is needed for herbarium level inventories, so having a camera with this feature is something I'd like, unless getting a separate GPS seems wiser.

Indoors, I'd like for this camera to take images of specimens via my
dissecting microscope: Olympus SZ 3060 that has dual eyepieces at 25 cm across. I also might grow into using it for my Aus Jena Zeiss Laboval Compound scope with dual eyepiece viewing areas of 22 cm.

I'd really appreciate if you could share your experience with me about what might be the best decision to make regarding which camera to purchase: go for a 'high end' point and shoot , a micro 4/5ths or used DSLR and purchase certain lenses as I save up for this?

Regarding the Point and Shoot models I've been considering the Canon S100 (the macro range goes only to 3 inches though and no articulating screen) or Canon G-12 (has a 1 " macro and articulating screen but no GPS and possibly not as good for low light), or micro 4/3rds options including: Oly EP1, Nikon D3100 or Sony Nex 3, Panasonic Lumix etc