Focus Stacking Issues.....

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Tiny

Focus Stacking Issues.....

Post by Tiny »

Hi,

After reading behind the scenes for several months, I eventually got around to giving stacking a go, using Helicon (for me it seemed to give better results than Zerene). I am quite dissapointed with the images and dont know where I went wrong. There seems to be 'ghosting' around the image, more evident in the seccond image. Any advice is welcome.

The first is a 62 image stack taken with a Nikon 200 f4 micro lit by two flashes at .225 intervals

The seccond is a stack of about 25 (I cant remember exactly :oops: ) taken with a Nikon 55 f2.8 reversed on 68mm of extension tubes lit with two flashes hand held.

Oh, appologies for spelling mistakes :wink:

Mark
I'm a Noob at this Micro Photography, so please give me a break! :-*

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Mark, welcome aboard! :D

Assuming each stack is shot in one continuous sequence, then this looks like what happens if you're using Helicon's Method B and have exposure variations from frame to frame. In Helicon, go to View > Preferences > Autoadjustment tab, and put a checkmark on Brightness.

By the way, I'm the fellow who wrote Zerene so I'm very interested in what it did badly for you. Normally a simple PMax will come out pretty good on a deep mechanical stack like this, and if it doesn't, then the result will often give clues about what went wrong. Any chance you can post out whatever bad result you got from Zerene, and if it wasn't PMax, then a PMax also?

Thanks,
--Rik

SONYNUT

Post by SONYNUT »

are you using a rail or freehand?
Just shoot it......

Tiny

Post by Tiny »

Thanks for the reply and the welcome Rik,