Request for comments

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

gypsey

Request for comments

Post by gypsey »

Hi all

This is my first attempt at uploading pics with a message, so I hope it works OK.

I have just started experimenting with macro and am not too happy with the results so I thought it would be a good idea to get some feedback from more knowledgeable people.
I would appreciate any comments from anyone.

My basic setup is Nikon D80 with StackShot and Micro Nikkor 105 f/2.8 with 2 SB200 units and a diffuser made from a translucent plastic dish.
The first 4 pics are 1:1 ISO 100 f/5.6 29 images at 0.2 intervals stacked with both Zerene and ZCP

The last 2 pics are 2:1 with a Minolta 50mm f/2.8 reversed on the front of the 105. ISO 160 f/6.3 - 111 images at .02mm intervals
They are all straight from the camera no PP

looking forward to your comments
thanks
gypsey

Stacked with CZP - Do stack

Stacked with CZP - Pyramoidal Max Contrast

Stacked with Zerene PMax

Stacked with Zerene DMap

Stacked with CZP Pyramoidal Max Contrast

Stacked with Zerene PMax

Craig Gerard

Post by Craig Gerard »

Gypsey,

These look good to me; but I can see your concerns in regard to improving the images.

gypsey wrote:
I have just started experimenting with macro and am not too happy with the results
Is it the clarity or 'sharpness' of the images that concern you?

Craig
To use a classic quote from 'Antz' - "I almost know exactly what I'm doing!"

gypsey

Request for comments

Post by gypsey »

Thanks Craig

To choose between the two I would say sharpness, in particular the two at the higher magnification. I wonder what will happen when I try an even higher magnification.
Have you any suggestions as to the reason.