www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - Best image processing for Zerene Stacker?
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Best image processing for Zerene Stacker?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shaypivac



Joined: 06 Oct 2018
Posts: 6
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:10 pm    Post subject: Best image processing for Zerene Stacker? Reply with quote

Hi,

I have been using Helicon, and loving the auto conversion from Lightroom to Helicon, I'm just curious as to what the best system for using Zerene Stacker is??

Import into LR>Convert to .TIFF>Import into Zerene>Photoshop?

I Just don't have a tonne of space on my PC to import 100+ images and then Exporting 100+ .TIFF images, then importing into photoshop the stacked image and doubling my harddrive space needed?

Any recommendations? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rjlittlefield
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 19249
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For starters, I suggest to take a look at Helicon's cache folder while it's working. The last time I checked, Helicon's path from Lightroom involved making TIFF copies of all the source files anyway. It just happened in a background task so it was easy to overlook. If that's still the case, then you can use the process that you describe without any actual penalty except for being aware of what happens.

If that's not the case, then I would be interested to know exactly how you're doing the export to Helicon, including what file formats are involved and what version of Helicon. I'm the fellow behind Zerene Stacker, so I have a continuing interest in what Helicon actually does and how people perceive it.

--Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shaypivac



Joined: 06 Oct 2018
Posts: 6
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rjlittlefield turns out you're completely correct!

Is there at all a Lightroom export plug-in type thing rather than having to export 100+ files again to import into zerene?

Just an easier flow? Or is it really, upload to LR>Adjust>Export .TIFF>Zerene etc ?

Not complaining, just trying to work it out. New to this software Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rjlittlefield
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 19249
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a Lightroom plugin for Zerene Stacker. It's just not installed by default because it's one of the features that requires a Pro-type license to use beyond trial.

See if the documentation at https://zerenesystems.com/cms/stacker/docs/workingwithlightroom helps.

--Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TheDocAUS



Joined: 19 Jul 2018
Posts: 25
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you aware Helicon has a feature called RAW in DNG out?

In LR you use the plug in and the RAW files are taken from LR, imported into Helicon, stacked and a DNG returned to LR. Once I am happy with the stack I can delete the original RAW files and then post process the DNG in LR or PS: https://www.heliconsoft.com/raw-in-dng-out/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rjlittlefield
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 19249
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheDocAUS wrote:
Are you aware Helicon has a feature called RAW in DNG out?

In LR you use the plug in and the RAW files are taken from LR, imported into Helicon, stacked and a DNG returned to LR. Once I am happy with the stack I can delete the original RAW files and then post process the DNG in LR or PS: https://www.heliconsoft.com/raw-in-dng-out/

Again, check your cache folders. Last time I looked, RAW in DNG out was producing 16-bit TIFF images in cache also. Under the covers, it looks like what they're doing is to convert the RAWs to TIFF, stack the TIFFs, then package the output image into a DNG wrapper so that it looks RAW despite having been fully demosaiced at that point.

One very nice feature of RAW in DNG out is that it seems to preserve the original camera color space, so you can make large changes in color balance, exposure, etc, just as if you were working with raw.

The current version of https://www.heliconsoft.com/raw-in-dng-out/ seems pretty clear about these issues. Earlier versions glossed over most of them.

--Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shaypivac



Joined: 06 Oct 2018
Posts: 6
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that, I have installed the PlugIn, thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group