www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - macro-rail, micro-processor, nano-steps
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
macro-rail, micro-processor, nano-steps
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 470

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello lonepal,
Quote:
“ As I know all micrometers move when we spin them”

No, the micrometre-screw of Mitutoyo doesn’t change its position.
The behaviour of the micrometre-screws of the 3D stage is the same.
Only one part of the linear-stage is moved, the screw doesn’t change its place.
So, you can use a simple shaft coupling.
BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lonepal



Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 248
Location: Turkey

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adi;

Oh really?
Does it means any Mitutoyo micrometers do not change position when screwed or only spesific ones? How can I understand this? Because I will order from ebay, I must be sure that I ordered the correct micrometer.

Thanks for your great help.
_________________
Regards.
Omer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 470

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello lonepal,
A linear-stage consists of two parts and micrometer-screw too.
One part of the stage is connected to the micrometer-screw and the second one is moved by the screw.
In my case the part of the screw, which can be rotated (with scale) is connected to the shaft.
It can be rotated but not moved. The second part of the screw can be moved together with the movable part of the stage.
The photo-subject is attached to this part of the stage, which can be moved, if the part of the screw with the scale is mounted immovable.
BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lonepal



Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 248
Location: Turkey

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Adi;

I recently used Newport 423, 433 and 443 linear stages with sm-25 and sm-50 micrometers. But the micrometer was connected to the right or left side for all 3 models. I never used a linear stage like yours so I am curious about how to find a stage like that. I must be sure that the stage I purchase has a not moving micrometer.
Do you think China made stages are like yours?
Could you send me some ebay links that you are sure about they have not moving micrometers?
_________________
Regards.
Omer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 470

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello lonepal,
I would suggest that you take your Newport stage and spin the screw (the part with the scale) and hold it at the same place.
Then you will see which part of the stage is moved and which one is only clipped to the other one.
So, the clipped one can be fixed and the movable can be attached to the foto-subject.
Yes, my 3D-stage ( on the page 4; Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 8:42 pm ) has 3 micrometer-screws and no one is moved during the spinning.
BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lonepal



Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 248
Location: Turkey

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Adi;
We are talking about different things.
I want to learn about the connection between the micrometer and the gearbox. When you spin the micrometer with the gearbox, the connection must be lenghten or shorten right?
I think you use the flexible coupler for this.
How much can it lenghten? About 10mms?
_________________
Regards.
Omer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 470

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Omer,
Quote:
”We are talking about different things.”
Are you sure?
As I already explained the micrometer-screw (the part with the scale) is not moved during the spinning.
So, the micrometer-screw is connected to the gear-box by the simple coupling shaft (hard, strong & stable :-).
BTW, have you already tested the behavior of your Newport stage?
BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lonepal



Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 248
Location: Turkey

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Adi;

I already checked it.
The SM-50 Micrometer shortens when you screw it.
Could you send me a video when your rail is working?
I want to see it working to understand fully.
omercancalikk@gmail.com
_________________
Regards.
Omer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 470

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Omer,
Quote:
”The SM-50 Micrometer shortens when you screw it“

This is only an optical illusion.
The stage is bigger than the micrometer-screw and you think automatically that the stage should be stable and screw has to move.
You know, there are no absolute positions in time and space :-)
So, it depends on that which part of the screw is mounted stable and cannot change its positon and which part is moveable.
If the part of the micrometer-screw with the scale cannot be moved then the second part of the screw has to move (it has no choice :-)
Please take a look at the normal screw:


And the same thing with the micrometer-screw (blue parts are stable):


BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lonepal



Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 248
Location: Turkey

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2017 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Adi;

Thanks for your great help about this matter.

Bytheway how is your new rail? Any improvement?
_________________
Regards.
Omer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 470

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2017 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Omer,

As I already mentioned I only added the L-element (yellow) at the open end of the CNC slide:





Without my modification it looks like that:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/CNC-Z-Axis-Slide-60MM-DIY-Milling-Linear-Motion-3-Axis-Engraving-Machine-New-/371931027001?hash=item5698d11639:g:fm4AAOSwvihY-ehi

It is good enough for the small magnification and quicker than the rail with the gear-box.

BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lonepal



Joined: 28 Jan 2017
Posts: 248
Location: Turkey

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Adi;

Is there any dislocation during movement?
There is an unwanted movement on my Wemacro rail, it happens periodically on every full rotation. The framing moves periodically up and down 1 time for every full rotation. It is highly disturbing especially at high magnifications. I think my T8 screw rod is not straight perfectly may be it has bended. Still thinking about how to correct it.
_________________
Regards.
Omer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 470

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Omer,
Mitutoyo stage runs perfectly and the cheap CNC without any problem.
I have already tested this CNC-stage with magnifications between 08:1 till 50:1 ( see #32 ):
http://www.focusstackingforum.de/t1697f6-Elektro-Schlitten-zum-Selbermachen-zu-Euro-2.html
BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mawyatt



Joined: 22 Aug 2013
Posts: 1622
Location: Clearwater

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lonepal wrote:
Hi Adi;


Is there any dislocation during movement?
There is an unwanted movement on my Wemacro rail, it happens periodically on every full rotation. The framing moves periodically up and down 1 time for every full rotation. It is highly disturbing especially at high magnifications. I think my T8 screw rod is not straight perfectly may be it has bended. Still thinking about how to correct it.



Omer,


I had issues with Stackshot and WeMacro rails I attributed to rail "wobble". This simple addition made a big difference. Many others have reported good results and the chip image on WeMacro's site is done with this Off Axis Loading technique.
See thread on "Off Axis Loading".

http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=32361&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=axis

Best,

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 470

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Mike,
Have you already measured the size of the wobbles (before and atfer)?
e.g. By the method I tested the backlash (you know with Zerene).
But you should take the photographs along the axis of the movement.
Br, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group