Focus stacking algorithms: Zerene vs Photoshop

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

mrred

Focus stacking algorithms: Zerene vs Photoshop

Post by mrred »

Hi, i'm a student interested in stacking procedure.

Even if newbie in the field, after a little search seems already clear that the big actors in this field are Zerene/Helicon.

I'm here for the expertise that various member clearly shows, as also for Rik (his knowlegde is quite vaste of course).

Thanks to documentation of Zerene and also Helicon, i've at least a little idea of which kind of algo's and logic they use (sure, i know details are not public due to commercial reasons)
Instead, I can't find anything about Photoshop logic/procedure, or at least i'cant find anything with some "good level of trustness".

In some other forums, someone claims that Photoshop procedure is something that "resembles" the formally named "Method A" of Helicon.

a) Is there someone can confirm this info ? Or is a totally different logic? (maybe also someonce can infer/induct conclusions from his experience?)

b) Is there someone can address me about the photoshop method (in general i mean) and the differences between Zerene and Helicon ?

c) Are there some docs/papers which i'm missed (i mean also for Zerene /Helicon procedure which i can read to go more depth) ?

Thanks a lot, and sorry if there are already answers to these subject in some place/thread, but i can't find specifically.
Last edited by mrred on Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:10 am, edited 3 times in total.

elf

Re: Focus stacking algorithms: Zerene vs Photoshop

Post by elf »

No need to know the algorithms. Just stack the same image with Zerene and Photoshop. I'll guarantee the Zerene image will have fewer artifacts :D

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

mrred, welcome aboard!