First post and hi-res lens on eBay

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Bob^3

First post and hi-res lens on eBay

Post by Bob^3 »

Hi all,
I’ve been lurking here for a number of months and finally joined about a month ago.
I’m a Long-time amateur photographer (40+ years) with a background in science and engineering, currently working in the optical disc industry (CD’s DVD’s and Blu-ray). Up until about a year ago, I’ve been shooting mostly landscapes and macro (up to 2x---all nature subjects) with Nikon D700 and D200 bodies. I’m currently in the process of acquiring the hardware and skills to expanding my horizons beyond 2x. Extensive searches on this forum have sure accelerated my rise up the learning curve! Hopefully, I’m up to speed enough to contribute to the forum.

I have a number of challenging projects in work including an automated x-y-z focus-stacking stage system based on Compumotor motorized (stepper motor) rails with linear encoder feedback (<2um resolution). I’m also assembling materials for a portable, high-speed motorized stacking rail for field use---like the StackShot discussed in another thread, but with a ball screw drive and a rotary encoder on the stepper motor shaft, all from eBay. I’ll start new threads for these with images as the projects evolve.

One time-sensitive item I wanted to mention is a very interesting, JML 21mm f/3.5, fixed-aperture lens currently up for buy-it-now on eBay here. He has 38 of these remaining. The description, sounds way too good to be true: