Macro gear | Cant decide

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Ironlegs

Macro gear | Cant decide

Post by Ironlegs »

Hello everyone !

I am an 18 year old photographer from Slovakia and i really want to get closer in macro and since i am a student my budget is quite low and i am deciding between my next gear and i am not really sure which way to go, i gathered a lot of informations for past weeks.

I have canon 550d and canon EF 100mm f/2.8 lens, i want a higher magnification setup and i was considering getting 1. 65mm extension tubes + pentax 50mm 1.7 reversed or getting 2. raynox 250 for my canon 100mm and extension tubes on that too. I was told that the reverse way has lower image quality on higher resolution and that the viewfinder is too dark. With my calculations 1. would give me 2.2x magnification and 232.7mm closest focusing distance and 2. would give me 3.1x magnification and 537mm closest focusing distance ( with 65mm extension ) If i think about it correctly, would 2. make me be further from my subject without distracting it and still get higher magnification than with 1. setup ? How about comparisons of image quality ?

Thanks a lot for your answers people.

ChrisR
Site Admin

Post by ChrisR »

HI - welcome to the forum!

First - Is the Canon 100mm you have, a Macro lens?

A reversed 50mm lens, whether on tubes or the front of the 100mm lens, will give you a short working distance, probably too short for live subjects which can fly away.

Exact working distances of lens combinations ( and whether they vignette or not) depend on the actual lens construction so may only be approximate.