3D printing hoods for microscope objectives

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

daemonoropsis

3D printing hoods for microscope objectives

Post by daemonoropsis »

Hi All

I do photography very on/off and in my latest on-period I have been redesigning this setup ( http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/v ... hp?t=20278 ) to use LED lighting instead of flash.

In the process I have found that making a small paper lens hood has helped me combat some flare that I was getting in my test shots.

My DYI paperpcraft skills are less then ideal and my little hood is very imprecise and I would like to make something a bit better.
I have some working knowledge in 3D drawing (Im a trained architect even though my dayjob is as a GIS administrator so I used to work with AutoCAD/3DMAX etc when I was in school) and I have been wondering if it would be possible to simply 3D print hoods for my microscope objectives. I would like to try it out and I have been thinking about a simple hood looking something like this:

But I have absolutely no idea how to calculate the size of the hole in the hood. I am currently using 10x and 20x mitutoyo objectives which have front elements 28,2mm and 29,2mm wide. Does anyone here know how small a hole it would be possible to get away with for these objectives. I have been using paper cutouts which are hard to place on the exact center of the lens so it's almost impossible for me to figure out how small I can go before it starts to vignette on a FF camera.

Has anyone tried anything similar or know how to calculate it?

On a sidenote I have seen a few 3d printing designs for jansjo base plates that might make it easier for those of us who would like to get rid of the big black disc thing that comes with the jansjos

http://www.shapeways.com/model/704617/i ... terialId=6

http://www.ikeahackers.net/2014/04/jans ... acket.html